Spoiled Children of Divorce


“Split” edited by Ava Chin
December 27, 2007, 2:38 am
Filed under: Books, links to articles

A while back I bought a copy of a collection of writings by Generation X writers from divorced families.  It’s edited by Ava Chin and, I believe is now out of print. the full title is something like: Split:  Stories by a Generation Raised on Divorce.  My copy is lost in a storage unit somewhere kind of like my life but I remember that the stories were the first honest descriptions I had ever read about growing up a la divorce.  I’ve found a partial review of it from out of the Los Angeles Times (Oct. 2, 2002) by Maria Elena Fernandez called “Tales of the Walking Wounded.”  The link is here and might be full of typos:  http://lists101.his.com/pipermast/smart marriages/2002-October/0012393.html.  The title of the article reminds me of a the description that I read of the great Buddhist Monk, Thich Nhat Hanh (sp?).  Can’t remember where I read or heard this but seem to remember that he describes children from divorce as “Ghosts.”  This made me pretty sad to hear because he generally has a pretty positive outlook on people. Unlike the psychologists, a monk is going to look straight at the person’s spirit, not by measurements of whether he’s kept up with societal requirements.

Here’s the beginning of the article.  Am afraid to copy more because of copyright laws:

“The divorce was like a car accident I heard happen behind me…. I couldn’t
say how it had happened or who might have been at fault … I could only
describe how they looked after the collision.”

–Jen Robinson, from “Split: Stories From a Generation Raised on Divorce”
(Contemporary Books)

The moment parents divorce, the life of their child becomes a succession of
splits: emotions ebb and flow from one parent to the other; home, in most
cases, is no longer one house but two; and memories are slotted into
“before” and “after” categories.

Much has been researched and written about the long-term impacts of divorce
on children–the facts and interpretations always filtered through the eyes
and ears of a social scientist, psychologist or academic. Some experts
insist the psychological and emotional damage on children is irreversible;
others maintain it is a traumatic event people can grow and recover from.

But little has been heard from the children themselves.”

more:  http://lists101.his.com/pipermast/smartmarriages/2002-October/0012393.html


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You can still find the book on Amazon. I studied under Ava Chin and she is amazingly talented.

Comment by Beyond Beauty Basics




Leave a Reply

