Spoiled Children of Divorce


If One Were To Ask a Professional …
February 7, 2008, 4:26 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

A Child who experiences his parents’ Death is considered Traumatized.

A Child who experiences his parents’ Divorce is not considered Traumatized.

A person’s Divorce is considered one of the most stressful events he can go through in his life.

However, the kids have no Trauma reactions to Divorce whatsoever.

(With mouth hanging wide open and in complete disbelief I write this.)


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I couldn’t agree with you more! It absolutely baffles me to think that people really do not acknowledge a divorce as very traumatic for a child. This especially for those whom have experienced it first hand. I am not a child of divorce but my best friend growing up was. Her parents had a very nasty divorce when she was in primary school and they had a horrible relationship after. Her father went off with another woman, remarried, and had 2 girls. My friend was horribly effected by that. She felt rejected, replaced, and forgotten. Her mother also fell into a pit of depression that she never really got out of. My friend, as I’ve heard, has never really recovered. She is a hirrbly depressed person and I can only imagine what she has gone through. I wish parents and people in general would pay more attention to the children during the divorce. They are experiencing the world as they know it crumbling. There are many great stories and blogs in this very topic at http://www.firstwivesworld.com, check it out.
Just my two cents
Ann Marie

Comment by Ann Marie

Thanks for adding that story, Ann Marie. These definitely aren’t isolated cases. It’s so baffling to me that people go to so much trouble to suppress them.

I looked at firstwivesworld. There really are some great articles over there. I’m trying to emphasize the problems of divorce from the point of view of the kids and I think that only the most hardy of single parents could really handle this. I don’t want to hurt them (or provoke them for that matter, they do know how to fight after all, lol). More energy needs to go out on behalf of what really happens to the kids and hopefully more support will be given to them.

Comment by toothless




Leave a Reply

