Spoiled Children of Divorce


Exemplary Male Intellectuals – Installment 4
March 9, 2008, 6:27 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Interesting, I think that Installment No. 2, D through H, has disappeared.  All these Intellectuals Installments were edited yesterday by someone other than myself while something was going wrong with WordPress.

Anyway, Clifford Geertz so far has been the only Child of Divorce that I have openly discovered in my shallow Internet searches from the List of the Guardian’s 100 Top Intellectuals from 2005.  It’s very eerie that so far I’ve discovered two Individuals on the list who suffered the suicide of their Mothers, Amos Oz and Paul Ekman. I’ve found only one who grew up in Divorce.

Here’s the list.  I suppose it won’t last long and I can’t vouch for accuracy. Children of D are evasive little creatures.  Was very surprised that Jaron Lanier’s not from Divorce.  He’s a computer scientist & musician/interesting guy with dread locks who coined the term “Virtual Reality.”  Actually, his mother was killed in a car crash.  I’m so sorry.  That’s just absolutely awful.

Neil Gershenfeld, U.S. Physicist & Computer Scientist

Anthony Giddens, Britain, Social & Political Theorist.

Oh Hell, I’m not going to type this out.  They’ll just Google themselves and freak.

This list is tiring.  There’s nothing here for me.  The world wants kids from normal families to tell them how to deal with Authority.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

