Spoiled Children of Divorce


Brilliant College Lecture About Marital Discord
December 16, 2009, 4:20 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve just discovered the website AcademicEarth.org which is offering video lectures from the best colleges.  The link is one called “Marital Discord.”  It’s a psychology lecture from UCLA.  I flunked my way up the California Coast, jumping from college to college and changing majors I think about 3 or 4 times.  UCLA was my first college so I have a special place in my heart for it.  As a matter of fact, that’s where I went for my first counseling session on my own.  The shrink was a divorced woman who had one son.  Everything about her seemed to be bursting at the seams.  Her clothes were too tight.  The roots in her hair were always a quarter inch too long.  Her fake fingernails were painted bright red and had grown out from her cuticles by about an 1/8″.  She never looked me in the eye; just kept her face pointed down at her clipboard or aimed her eyes at the wall over my head.  I was there to ask her about relationship fears.  Mostly I was trying to decide whether to sleep with my boyfriend.  I didn’t really want to.  Of course, I couldn’t have told her about anything about how my parents had behaved in relationships.  My Step-Mother breaking up my family for the money.  My Mother learning how to be a Call Girl from someone she met in the Mental Hospital after her 3d suicide attempt.  My Father retreating from it all like a big, helpless blob.  The shrink said that generally people make worse mistakes in life by doing nothing.  She didn’t give a second thought to whether one would follow one’s heart I guess.  How much in life should one follow one’s heart, and how much should one restrain one’s heart and needs?

Haven’t watched the lecture, by the way.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

