Spoiled Children of Divorce


Don’t Jump
December 23, 2010, 2:56 am
Filed under: Suicide, therapy, Uncategorized

Article saying that people going through Divorce are 3 times as likely to become suicidal.  The article says that Divorce is the number 1 reason why people try to commit suicide.  I have no idea if that’s true or when it was written. I don’t know if these people are the ones who actually commit suicide.  So, I suppose it’s useful for both parents and children to understand that this is part of the package for many divorcing families.

Here’s what we, the eternal eye witness children of divorce get to read   (sort of like being talked at while someone’s staring at someone else across the room):

People are at greater risk to commit suicide if they have a close friend or family member who has committed suicide.

And, of course, the article is about the parents.  Not about the kids.  I was one of those kids, and I can tell you it is the source of many nights of panic — still.  I was the one who found my Mother, pulled away the cup of Clorox, pulled her out of the garage,  and had to make the phone calls while my entire body was shaking completely out of control.  I was the one who was yelled at and blamed afterwards.

All the attention goes on the person who has just made the attempt.  It would have been great if the hospitals would have some kind of family therapy session for everyone who was involved, maybe even without the person who just made the attempt, because that person will be too frail to understand what he’s just done to the others.

As I said, the kids aren’t mentioned.  The kids are never mentioned.  I know that no one ever talked about it in my family.  My brother has almost completely no memory of it.  My Father, who was put into a police car during one of the attempts didn’t help out with any of the next attempts.  He became  jealous of all the attention my Mother got.  Much later on he admitted that he had been thinking about Suicide the whole time as well.  And, considering both of their self destructive life styles, they both basically did commit suicide.

So, I think I’ve mentioned this before.  I went through all the years and years of psychotherapy.  It made things worse.  I went to the psychiatrists.  They are an embarrassment to modern civilization.  And absolutely the only time I’ve ever felt any relief from the anxiety I’ve felt over this experience was watching actor Hugh Grant’s reaction to hearing a little boy discuss his Mother’s suicide attempt in the movie About A Boy.  Imagine that, pretty weird to get so much relief from an actor?  The movie is based on a book written by Nick Hornby.  I’ve mentioned it before.

Anyhoo, I know that my Mother was hospitalized around the holidays so that must have been when her last attempts happened.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

